16.11.2022

Long COVID

If you suspect you have Long COVID, contact your primary care physician. Special patient groups can be treated in university hospitals under various scientific programs.

Definition

Long COVID describes long-term health consequences following COVID-19 disease. Common symptoms include shortness of breath, fatigue, decreased performance, and memory and concentration problems. However, symptoms can vary widely. Long COVID includes long-lasting COVID-19 disease (from four weeks of symptom duration) and the so-called post-COVID syndrome (from 12 weeks of symptom duration). Long COVID is also referred to when new symptoms are added after COVID-19 disease that cannot be explained in any other way.
[Source: sozialministerium.at]

This is what science says.

A recent study from the U.S. (November 2022) shows that the pandemic could cause millions of people to develop new kidney disease and other non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and neurological disease. These are chronic diseases that require lifelong treatment. The rise of chronic diseases has far-reaching implications for all aspects of our lives - including labor force participation, economic productivity, and societal well-being. As Long COVID leads more people to rely on durable health care, it presents new challenges to health care systems.
[Source: Executive Report of the November 7 GECKO meeting]

Prevention

An Israeli study this year showed that vaccination significantly reduces the risk of Long COVID. The author:s concluded from their study that vaccination with more than two doses was associated with a lower risk of getting the most common post-acute COVID-19 symptoms. Further analysis suggests that the protection of vaccination against Long COVID may be particularly pronounced in persons 60 years of age and older.
[Source: Executive Report of the September 19 GECKO meeting]

Further Information

More information on Long COVID as well as diagnosis and treatment options is provided by the health portal gesundheit.gv.at

More detailed information on the care of Long COVID sufferers is provided by the BMSGPK on its website at sozialministerium.at/Corona/allgemeine-informationen/long-covid.html

More detailed information and links to the current state of research are provided by GECKO on its website at bundeskanzleramt.gv.at/themen/gecko/publikationen-gecko.html.

Latest information

All posts →

16.11.2022

Long COVID

Haben Sie den Verdacht, an Long COVID zu leiden, wenden Sie sich an Ihre Hausärztin bzw. Ihren Hausarzt. Spezielle Patientengruppen können in Universitätskliniken im Rahmen verschiedener wissenschaftlicher Programme behandelt werden.

Definition

Long COVID beschreibt gesundheitliche Langzeitfolgen nach einer COVID-19 Erkrankung. Häufige Symptome sind zum Beispiel Kurzatmigkeit, Erschöpfung, verminderte Leistungsfähigkeit sowie Gedächtnis- und Konzentrationsprobleme. Die Symptome können jedoch sehr verschieden sein. Long COVID umfasst eine langanhaltende COVID-19 Erkrankung (ab vier Wochen Symptomdauer) und das sogenannte Post-COVID-Syndrom (ab 12 Wochen Symptomdauer). Von Long COVID spricht man ebenfalls, wenn nach einer COVID-19 Erkrankung neue Beschwerden hinzukommen, die anderweitig nicht erklärbar sind.
[Quelle: sozialministerium.at]

Das sagt die Wissenschaft

Eine aktuelle Studie aus den USA (November 2022) zeigt, dass die Pandemie bei Millionen von Menschen zu neu auftretenden Nierenerkrankungen und anderen nicht übertragbaren Krankheiten wie Diabetes, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen und neurologischen Erkrankungen führen könnte. Hierbei handelt es sich um chronische Erkrankungen, die eine lebenslange Behandlung erfordern. Der Anstieg chronischer Krankheiten hat weitreichende Auswirkungen auf alle Bereiche unseres Lebens – einschließlich der Erwerbsbeteiligung, der wirtschaftlichen Produktivität und des gesellschaftlichen Wohlergehens. Da durch Long COVID mehr Menschen auf dauerhafte Gesundheitsversorgung angewiesen sein werden, stellt dies Gesundheitssysteme vor neue Herausforderungen.
[Quelle: Executive Report der GECKO-Sitzung vom 7. November]

Prävention

Eine israelische Studie zeigte dieses Jahr, dass die Impfung das Risiko für Long COVID deutlich senkt. Die Autor:innen schlossen aus ihrer Untersuchung, dass eine Impfung mit mehr als zwei Dosen mit einem geringeren Risiko verbunden war, die häufigsten postakuten COVID-19-Symptome zu bekommen. Weitere Analysen weisen darauf hin, dass der Schutz der Impfung vor Long COVID bei Personen ab 60 Jahren eventuell besonders ausgeprägt ist.
[Quelle: Executive Report der GECKO-Sitzung vom 19. September]

Weiterführende Informationen

Nähere Informationen zu Long COVID sowie zur Diagnose und Therapiemöglichkeiten bietet das Gesundheitsportal gesundheit.gv.at

Nähere Informationen zur Versorgung von Long COVID-Betroffenen bietet das BMSGPK auf seiner Website unter sozialministerium.at/Corona/allgemeine-informationen/long-covid.html

Nähere Informationen und Links zum aktuellen Forschungsstand bietet die GECKO auf ihrer Website unter bundeskanzleramt.gv.at/themen/gecko/publikationen-gecko.html

Aktuelle Informationen

Alle Beiträge →