Latest information

All posts →

Local Vaccination and counseling services

Select your region to learn about services and regulations in your area. You can also book a vaccination appointment directly.

Infos zur Corona-Schutzimpfung

Should I get the booster vaccination (4th vaccination)?

Should I get the booster vaccination (4th vaccination)?
The 4th vaccination has been recommended since August 31 for all persons aged 12 years and older with an appropriate interval from the last vaccination from four to six months after completion of basic immunization (3rd vaccination), depending on age. For children aged 5 to 11 years, basic immunization consisting of three vaccinations should be completed no later than the start of school. No booster vaccination is currently recommended in this age group.

After recovery, the next vaccination can be given according to the recommended vaccination intervals, but no later than four to six months.

05.09.2022

Why is the Corona vaccination important?

The COVID-19 vaccine is an important and necessary measure. At the individual level, it verifiably minimizes the risk of severe COVID-19 or even death. As a result, it reduces the number of COVID-19-related hospitalizations, protects against long-term sequelae such as Long COVID, and helps mitigate the impact of the pandemic.

05.09.2022

How well is one protected by the COVID-19 vaccination?

Corona vaccination has been shown to reduce the risk of severe COVID-19 or death. While with the currently prevalent Omicron variant, infection can only be partially prevented by the COVID-19 vaccination, a COVID-19 disease is usually much milder in vaccinated individuals.

The effectiveness depends on various factors: On the one hand, the virus variant and, on the other hand, individual factors such as age, previous illnesses, number of corona vaccinations previously received, interval to the last vaccination and possible infections with the coronavirus.

05.09.2022

Why do vaccinated persons also get infected with COVID-19?

The immunization is not effective immediately upon vaccination, but must first be built up and is not present in 100 percent of the vaccinated persons. If a COVID-19 disease occurs despite vaccination, it is usually much milder and complications and deaths are avoided.

05.09.2022

Can vaccination reactions and side effects occur due to COVID-19 vaccination?

As after any vaccination, vaccination reactions may occur - e.g. a painful local reaction on the arm, headache, fatigue or fever are common. If such mild reactions occur in the days after vaccination, it is no cause for concern. These reactions show that the immune system is responding and beginning to build up protection against the Corona virus. If you are unsure about any suspected side effects, please contact your doctor. Three days of physical rest is recommended after the vaccination, as well as refraining from exercising for one week.

05.09.2022

What is the procedure for a vaccination appointment?

You can get the Corona vaccination at doctors' practices, vaccination centers and other locations. If available, please bring your vaccination certificate(s), e-Card and allergy card, if applicable. However, you can get vaccinated without a vaccination certificate or e-Card.

You will receive all medical information on site. You will be able to ask questions and your health condition will be carefully considered before the vaccination.

After your vaccination, please wait at least 15 minutes on site. You will receive your vaccination certificate right on the spot or online, depending on the organization.

Vaccination against COVID-19 is free for everyone.

05.09.2022

Do you have more questions?

Talk to your health care provider/doctor about COVID-19 and the vaccination against it. If you have any questions about the efficacy and safety of the Corona vaccine, you can also contact the experts on the Coronavirus Infoline at any time.

+43 800 555 621

Protect yourself and the ones around you.

You can find all the information you need about vaccination as well as a number of advice services by following the links below.

Aktuelle Informationen

Alle Beiträge →

Impf- und Beratungsangebote in Ihrem Bundesland

Wählen Sie Ihr Bundesland und informieren Sie sich über die Regelungen und Services in Ihrer Region. Sie können auch direkt einen Impf-Termin buchen.

Infos zur Corona-Schutzimpfung

Soll ich mir die Auffrischungsimpfung (4. Impfung) holen?

Die vierte Impfung ist seit 31. August für alle Personen ab 12 Jahren bei entsprechendem Abstand zur letzten Impfung je nach Alter ab vier bis sechs Monate nach dem Abschluss der Grundimmunisierung (3. Impfung) empfohlen. Bei Kindern von 5 bis 11 Jahren soll spätestens zu Schulbeginn die Grundimmunisierung bestehend aus drei Impfungen fertiggestellt werden. In dieser Altersgruppe ist derzeit keine Auffrischungsimpfung empfohlen.

Nach einer Genesung kann die nächste Impfung gemäß den empfohlenen Impfabständen erfolgen, spätestens jedoch nach vier bis sechs Monaten.

05.09.2022

Warum ist die Corona-Schutzimpfung wichtig?

Die COVID-19-Impfung ist eine wichtige und alternativlose Maßnahme. Auf individueller Ebene minimiert sie nachweislich das Risiko, schwer an COVID-19 zu erkranken oder sogar zu versterben. Dadurch senkt sie die Anzahl an COVID-19-bedingten Hospitalisierungen, schützt auch vor Langzeitfolgen wie Long-COVID und hilft, die Auswirkungen der Pandemie einzudämmen.

05.09.2022

Wie gut ist man durch die COVID-19-Impfung geschützt?

Die Corona-Schutzimpfung senkt nachweislich das Risiko, schwer an COVID-19 zu erkranken oder zu versterben. Bei der derzeit vorherrschenden Omikron-Variante kann eine Infektion durch eine COVID-19-Impfung zwar nur teils vermieden werden, allerdings verläuft eine COVID-19-Erkrankung bei geimpften Personen in der Regel deutlich milder.

Die Wirksamkeit hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab: Einerseits von der Virusvariante und andererseits von individuellen Faktoren wie Alter, Vorerkrankungen, Anzahl der schon vorher erhaltenen Corona-Schutzimpfungen, Abstand zur letzten Impfung und möglichen Infektionen mit dem Coronavirus.

05.09.2022

Warum erkranken auch geimpfte Personen an COVID-19?

Der Impfschutz ist nicht sofort mit der Impfung gegeben, sondern muss erst aufgebaut werden und ist nicht bei 100 Prozent der geimpften Personen gegeben. Kommt es trotz Impfung zu einer COVID-19-Erkrankung, so verläuft diese in der Regel deutlich milder und es werden Komplikationen und Todesfälle vermieden.

05.09.2022

Können Impfreaktionen und Nebenwirkungen durch die COVID-19 Impfung auftreten?

Wie nach jeder Impfung, können Impfreaktionen auftreten, z.B. eine schmerzende Lokalreaktion am Arm, Kopfschmerz, Müdigkeit oder Fieber sind häufig. Wenn solche milden Reaktionen in den Tagen nach der Impfung auftreten, ist das kein Grund zur Sorge. Sie zeigen, dass das Immunsystem reagiert und beginnt, einen Schutz gegen das Corona-Virus aufzubauen. Wenn Sie wegen vermuteten Nebenwirkungen unsicher sind, kontaktieren Sie bitte Ihre Ärztin oder Ihren Arzt. Nach der Impfung wird drei Tage körperliche Schonung empfohlen, sowie der Verzicht auf Sport für eine Woche.

05.09.2022

Wie läuft ein Impftermin ab?

Sie erhalten die Corona-Schutzimpfung in Arztpraxen, Impfzentren und an anderen Orten. Bringen Sie bitte – sofern vorhanden – Ihren Impfpass, Ihre e-Card und gegebenenfalls einen Allergieausweis mit. Sie können sich allerdings auch ohne Impfpass oder e-Card impfen lassen.

Sie erhalten alle medizinischen Informationen vor Ort. Dabei können Sie Fragen stellen und Ihr Gesundheitszustand wird vor der Impfung genau berücksichtigt.

Nach Ihrer Impfung warten Sie bitte mindestens 15 Minuten vor Ort. Ihr Impfzertifikat erhalten Sie in Abhängigkeit von der Organisation gleich vor Ort oder online.

Die Impfung gegen COVID-19 ist für alle kostenlos.

05.09.2022

Sie haben weitere Fragen?

Sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Arzt oder Ihrer Ärztin über COVID-19 und die Impfung. Bei Fragen zur Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit der Corona-Schutzimpfung können Sie sich auch jederzeit an die Expert:innen der Coronavirus Infoline wenden.

+43 800 555 621 (0-24 Uhr)

Für ein gesundes Miteinander: Lassen wir uns impfen!

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen rund ums Impfen sowie zahlreiche Beratungsangebote.